Northern district divided.

SEC. 2. Said northern district shall be, and hereby is, divided into two divisions, to be known as the eastern and the western division of the northern district of Ohio. The western division shall consist of twenty-four counties, to wit; Williams, Defiance, Paulding, Van Wert, Mercer, Auglaize, Allen, Putnam, Henry, Fulton, Lucas, Wood, Hancock, Hardin, Logan, Union, Delaware, Marion, Wyandot, Seneca, Sandusky, Ottawa, Erie, and Huron; and the eastern division shall consist of the remaining counties in said district. But no additional clerk or marshal shall be appointed in said district.

Suits, where to be brought.

SEC. 3. All suits not of a local nature in the circuit and district courts, against a single defendant, inhabitant of such State, must be brought in the division of the district where he resides; but if there are two or more defendants, residing in different divisions of the district, such suits may be brought in either division. All issues of fact in such suits shall be tried at a term of the court held in the division where the suit is so brought.

Place of trial.

SEC. 4. All offenses committed in either of the subdivisions shall be cognizable and indictable within said division.

Offenses, where to be tried. Transfer of pend-

Sec. 5. Actions or proceedings now pending at Cleveland, in said district, which would under this act be brought in the western division of said district, may be transferred, by consent of all the parties, to said western division; and in case of such transfer, all papers and files therein, with copies of all journal entries, shall be transferred to the

ing causes.

deputy clerk's office at Toledo; and the same shall be proceeded with in all respects as though it originally commenced in the western divis-

Jurors' residence. cess.

Sec. 6. All grand and petit jurors summoned for service in each divis-Service of pro- ion shall be residents of such division. All mesne and final process, subject to the provisions hereinbefore contained, issued in either of said divisions, may be served and executed in either or both of the divisions.

Taking effect of act.

SEC. 7. This act shall be in force from and after the first day of September, anno Domini eighteen hundred and seventy-eight. acts and parts of acts inconsistent herewith are hereby repealed.

Approved, June 8, 1878.

June 8, 1878.

CHAP. 170.—An act to authorize the Secretary of the Treasury to constitute Superintendents of Mints or Assayers in Assay-offices, Assistant Treasurers of the United States.

of mints, etc. May be assistant treasurers.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United Superintendents States of America in Congress assembled, That the Secretary of the Treasury be and he is hereby authorized to constitute any superintendent of a mint or assayer of any assay office, an assistant treasurer of the United States without additional compensation, to receive gold coin and bullion on deposit for the purposes provided for in section two hundred and fifty four of the Revised Statutes.

Approved, June 8, 1878.

June 11, 1878.

CHAP. 180.—An act providing a permanent form of government for the District of Columbia.

District of Columbia a corpora-

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That all the territory which was ceded by the State of Maryland to the Congress of the United States for the permanent seat of the government of the United States shall continue to be designated as the District of Columbia. Said District and the property and persons that may be therein shall be subject to the following provisions for the government of the same, and also to any existing laws applicable thereto not hereby repealed or inconsistent with the provisions of this act. The District of Columbia shall remain and continue a municipal corporation, as provided in section two of the Revised

Existing laws.